A few comments

Posted: January 24, 2007 in Flickr, Word Press features

I posted the picture in my previous post directly from Flickr. It wasn’t difficult at all. But I wonder if/why I would do it as a rule. I could certainly upload the picture directly into the blog without using the intermediate step of Flickr.

That being said, though, I found myself responding almost exactly the opposite to the uploading of the pdf of the presentation yesterday. Why would I upload it directly to the blog when I could link to it through a site like Slide Share?

This is a presentation that I prepared but didn’t exactly give last fall that I uploaded to Slide Share and then embedded in my other blog.

OK… I have tried inserting the code a number of times and the presentation just won’t show up. Is this the way Word Press is set up or am I doing something wrong?

If things work right, this should link to the presentation in Slide Share.   I guess maybe I can’t embed it.

Comments
  1. Rashmi Sinha says:

    Nancy,

    You have done the right thing re Slideshare embed. The problem is that WordPress.com does not allow any types of embeds. They strip out the codes. They have made special provisions for YouTube videos. And we have been talking to them to allow Slideshare embeds.

    It would be great if you could send in a request about this to the WordPress team (just email the WordPress team as suggested here: http://wordpress.com/forums/topic.php?id=4534). We have done all we can from our end. The ball is in their court now.

    Thanks for using Slideshare!

    rashmi
    the slideshare team

  2. John Graney says:

    I used Slideshare one time so far. I liked the ease of putting it on the web, but some of the features were lost. The animation I can understand, but I had made some 3D ovals, and they disappeared in the process.

    Thank you for commenting on my students’ blogs. I have been reading your blog for a long time and read about Katrina and your reopening of classes. Now, I will keep an eye out for when your students begin blogging to return the favor.

  3. patricia9936 says:

    Hi Nancy,
    As Rashmi said, WordPress doesn’t allow embeds. Here is the forum; maybe they’ll get it going in the future.
    http://wordpress.com/forums/topic.php?id=4534&replies=8#post-29507

Leave a Reply

