Odeo

Posted: February 10, 2007 in EVO 2007 Tasks

I had looked at Odeo before, but I never really took the time to figure it out.  Today, I decided, would be the day I changed all that.  So I signed up and began to look around.  For some reason, it was real slow, but I was able to do enough to set a few subscriptions and add to a playlist.

I like an online podcatcher because I have been known to practically fill up my hard drive with podcasts that I will probably never listen to.  Using Odeo I am not filling up my computer but can still find what I want when I want it.  I hope that will encourage me to use more podcasts with my students.

I have been doing some of that this year in my writing class.  I give students articles to read and brief audio pieces to listen to, and then they have a writing assignment based on the two.  This is somewhat along the lines of the new TOEFL writing, so I think it is a good way for them to prepare for the exam.  More than that, though, it is good practice for them as future college studenrs.  Often they will be asked to listen to a lecture, read the text and then write a paper or answer an essay test question based on what they have learned form the two sources.

So I am going to give Odeo a real try and see if it helps me with this project.  I think it will.

Leave a Reply

