Changes ahead

Posted: March 9, 2007 in personal

Because of declining enrollment, the ESL program where I work is closing at the end of the semester in May. I had known it was bound to happen, but I was still hoping it wouldn’t. I have known about this for almost two weeks now, so I have pretty much accepted it and am moving in to the intense job-hunting phase.

While I am sad to be leaving my current job, I am excited about whatever it is that will come next. I am looking to change my focus with this next job. My real interest is teaching writing, and I am obviously very interested in technology. So I am looking at jobs that would allow me to incorporate the two. Fortunately, all this is coming at a time when many jobs are being advertised, so I have been busy applying for them.

And since only one of these jobs is anywhere near where I live now, there is a move in the cards, too. We have lived here almost six years. In my entire adult life, I had never lived more than 2 years anywhere until now, so this has been quite a change. But I had finally adjusted to being here so long, so this will be another challenge.

Fortunately, my husband has been extremely supportive. We will go wherever the job takes us – just as we have for over 35 years. We are excited and sad and nervous and maybe a little scared al at the same time.

I’ll let you know how the job search goes. And if any of you here in the US know of a job that seems like a good match for my interests and experience, please feel free to let me know!

Comments
  1. bleiva2003 says:

    Dear Nancy, a new beginning in your life. Changes are scary but offer a world of possibilities. Well, you know it better than anyone who has moved so many times. That amazes me, to “close shop” and start in a new place.

    We never had the need, my husband and I, and thought we would live in the same city forever. Now we don´t know if that will be so anymore, unfortunately. We have lived abroad but no more than two years at a time and always knowing we would be back to our country.

    I hope you find a job that suits you and where you can teach writing and integrate it with technology. Who knows, maybe we can collaborate in a project in the future. I hope to offer an elective course in EFL writing in 2008 for the students at our university.

    All the best, Berta

Leave a Reply

