Trouble with WordPress

Posted: January 29, 2008 in del.icio.us, SMiELT2008, Word Press features
Tags:

Actually, that title is misleading. I like wordpress just the way it is. But it won’t let me insert the badges that we are supposed to add this week.

I remember last year when I started this blog. After 2 years of using Blogger, I had to learn a lot. My problems then, as now, were mostly with adding things to my blog. If I leave it alone and use it as a blog, it works wonderfully. When I start trying to do other things, I have trouble.

For the purposes of SMiELT, I understand why we are trying to facilitate the networking by adding the badges to our blogs. It is nice to make it easy for people to find our accounts on Flickr and del.icio.us. I really love looking at what people have saved on del.icio.us, and it would be nice for people to see what I have saved.

What I have done, instead of the badges, is add the de.icio.us widget to my sidebar.  If you click on the link, you are taken to my account page.  You can, from there, subscribe to it, if you want.  (I am not really advocating that.  My account has some really strange things saved!)

I use del.icio.us a lot. If you aren’t really familiar with it, please look at the accounts like Patricia’s or Bee’s.  I guarantee you will find some really interesting articles to read.

Comments
  1. Rudolf says:

    This strikes me as Helpdesk material. I’m sure Patricia or Bee would oblige and post a quick tutorial from which others might profit as well.

  2. illyasoet says:

    Nancy, I’m having similar problems with badges. One way I’ve come a bit closer is by looking at the links and codes that are on the badges on other sites. It’s provided a bit of help, but it’s still a lot of trial and error. I’ll let you know if I find a simple solution, if you do the same for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

