Playing on Flickr

Posted: February 8, 2008 in Flickr, SMiELT2008
Tags: ,

Between sneezes I have been looking at Flickr more.  I was interested by a question in the Dekita group discussion area about why a picture didn’t show up on the map.  So I decided to work to see what I could discover.  And the answer was…  NOTHING.

I was able to locate my photos on the map.  When I check the map on my page, the locations show up.  But, as Karen noticed, they do not show up on a Dekita page.  It must be a Dekita group setting or something.

I can see the map part of Flickr being something that a teacher could exploit.  Geotagging in general, I guess.  And I guess this could work together with a site like 43 Places.  If I were to ask students to learn about another part of the world or to find pictures and information about their own countries, these sites could be good sources to check out.

I wonder if students could be asked to find pictures from their own countries and then use them to accompany something they write about their homes.  I suppose that there would be other logical uses of Flickr, too.   I will have to continue exploring.

Comments
  1. I too must dig deeper into the depths of these tools. It seems that I can concentrate on 2 and then my brain begins to fry. Flickr is one of them at the moment and I’m glad there are several of us exploring the possibilities and sharing. I just posted to http://onelearnersjourney.wordpress.com/ with ideas and see that as one person comes up with an idea and shares it, it sets a mountain in movement! I’m sure we’ll even manage the 43 trio one day 🙂

Leave a Reply

